Call for Abstracts – Akko Conference on Cognition Research, Feb 2016

We are pleased to announce that the third Conference on Cognition Research of the Israeli Society for Cognitive Psychology will be held on February 16-18, 2016, in the Knights Youth Hostel and Guest House in Akko (Acre) ( Our aim is to bring together the large and diverse Israeli cognitive community of researchers and students in a single venue to share their research and perspectives on this rapidly advancing field.

The conference website is now ready for abstract submission. Please see

Please note the following deadlines in the upcoming month:

Deadline for symposium submissionNovember 10, 2015 (please send symposium topic and list of presenters/titles to Prof. Dominique Lamy at; upon acceptance, abstracts should be submitted through website).
Notification of symposium acceptance: November 15, 2015.
Deadline for abstract submission for talks and posters (including conference registration): November 20, 2015 (through website).
Notification of abstract acceptance: December 5, 2015.
Deadline for conference registration (for participants not submitting an abstract) & payment for accommodation (for all participants)at the Knights Hostel: December 15, 2015 (through website).  

In addition, we would like to remind you of the following information:

Enrollment for the conference and abstract submission will be done through the website (please see Abstract submission, and Registration & Accommodation tabs).

Program: The conference will include short oral presentations by students and faculty (five lectures in each session, each 15 minutes in length followed by a 5-minute discussion period) as well as poster sessions. All talks and posters are to be presented in English. Information about the full program will be published on the website once abstract submission is completed.

Symposia: Each symposium coordinator should strive to include speakers from many institutions (ideally no more than 2 speakers from the same institution). This aspect of the proposal will play a central role in the selection of the symposia. There will be maximum 5 talks per session. Please send symposium topic and list of presenters/titles to Prof. Dominique Lamy

Keynote lecture: This year’s keynote lecture will be given by Prof. Klaus Oberauer (University of Zurich). Details regarding the lecture topic will be announced later on.

Abstract submission: Note that this year, the submission of abstracts for talks and posters will be allowed only after the submitting author has registered to the conference. Co-authors and people who wish to attend the conference without presenting must also register. Please see further instructions for abstract submission and registration on our website.

Accommodation and registration fees:

1) Registration fees are 150NIS for students, 400NIS for faculties. Note that faculty fees were raised, relative to last year’s fees, in order to allow lower registration fees for students. There are no partial registration schemes. Please note that these prices are exceptionally low, relative to other local and international conferences, and are meant to cover the conference expenses only. There will be no reimbursement in cases of cancellations. For those who need a signed receipt for reimbursement, please bring a printed copy of the electronic receipt to the conference site, where it can be signed at the front desk.

2) Half-board accommodation at the Knights Youth Hostel and Guest House: please see appendix at the end of this newsletter and/or website.

3) Lunch and dinner options will be available at the guesthouse for attendees who are staying elsewhere.

4) The rooms at the conference venue are well suited for multiple occupancy (2 to 4 persons). The number of roomsis limited, therefore, early registration is highly recommended. Additional rooms are available for conference attendees at the nearby Akkotel (see reduced fairs for conference attendees in the appendix at the end of this newsletter,, Efendi Hotel ( and Hotel Hof Hatmarim (

We hope to see you all,

The organizing committee:

David Anaki (Bar Ilan University)

Shahar Arzy (Hadassah Hebrew University)

Morre Goldsmith (University of Haifa)

Nurit Gronau (Open University)

Dominique Lamy (Tel Aviv University)

Nachshon Meiran (Ben-Gurion University)

פורסם בקטגוריה ארכיון האתר , מאת מערכת האיגוד הנוירולוגי.